Page updated 1 December 2022
Mailboxes are of two types, Accounts and Saveboxes. It is important
that users understand their different functions:
- Accounts: Echo the
contents of the POP3 server at your Mail Service Provider. To
synchronise they connect with the server. There are two types of
connection. When the server is "checked" any new mail that has arrived
on the server is added to the account in nPOPuk. When the server is
"updated" the mail marked for an action in nPOPuk has that action
executed locally and echoed at the server. Accordingly, mail that is
marked for deletion from an account will both disappear from nPOPuk
and be deleted from the server.
WARNING: Because an nPOPuk
account always reflects the mail held on the server, if another
program deletes mail from the server, then at the next "check" of
the server, that mail will also disappear from nPOPuk. See the Checking
Mail page for solutions to Problems
relating to this feature that some users encounter.
- Saveboxes: Contain only
local copies of mail that have no link with a remote server. Mail in
Saveboxes will have been copied or moved to the Savebox, either
manually or automatically, by a filter. They need to be used if mail
is to be retained after it has been deleted from the server, and are
also typically used in conjunction with Filters
to separate spam or organise mail from particular people or topics,
for example, business and personal mail.
Adding a Mailbox
After the initial account has been created on installation, to add a
further Mailbox open the MAILBOX menu, on the Main Window and choose
ADD. This opens the "Add mailbox" dialogue where you can specify whether
it is to be a new account created from scratch or from a Setup file or
either a new or imported Savebox.
See the Accounts and Saveboxes
pages for further information.
Once additional Mailboxes have been established, to change the settings
of any of them, it must be selected from the Mailbox
Pane, before opening the MAILBOX menu and selecting the EDIT
Deleting a Mailbox
A Mailbox, and all its contents, can be deleted either from the Mailbox
menu on the Main Window. Single or multiple accounts may be
deleted via the Mailboxes Summary