nPOPuk

Send and Delete Mail

Page updated 24 August 2009

Go to TopMarking Mail

In nPOPuk, three potentially critical functions require mail to be "marked" and then the server updated for the operation to complete. These are sending, deleting and forcing full download of partially retrieved mail.  To mark an item, select it in the Main Window, and click the required toolbar button (Menu: MAIL > MARK TO xxxx. Keyboard: CTRL-D (Mark to Download/Send), CTRL-DEL (Mark to Delete)):

Mark to Download Button Mark to Delete Button Mark to Send Button

Alternatively, you may right-click over the item and select the type of mark required from the context menu. These actions place the appropriate icon against the item in the mail list. Updating the server, is a distinct server operation. In nPOPuk updating the server is activated automatically during a check for mail. (For a fuller explanation see the FAQ page.)

Sending Mail
Mail is normally saved to the Outbox, where it is then marked ready for the next update. It can also be sent directly from the Mail Edit window using the "Send now". This operation automates both saving the message to the Outbox and connecting to the server and sending the message.
Deleting Mail from the server
(NOTE: Mail can be cleared from the list by right-clicking the item and selecting "Delete from list" on the pop-up menu. (Menu: MAIL > DELETE FROM LIST. Keyboard: DEL). However, this does NOT delete it from the server!)
Downloading Mail
(NOTE: The Global Option to retrieve the full body when checking for mail makes marking mail for download redundant.)

Go to TopUpdating the Server

The Update to marked toolbar button

Once all items have been marked as required, (Deletions, full downloads and mail to be sent) click the "Update account" button. (Menu: CONNECT > UPDATE ACCOUNT. Keyboard: CTRL+E) This retrieves, deletes or sends marked mail on the selected account.  If not connected, the connection process will start.

The Update Account Dialogue

If the account to be updated has mail marked for deletion, then the "Update account" dialogue will appear.  Click the "Yes" button to proceed with a full update of the server, including deletions, downloads and sending of mail.  Click "No" to proceed with downloads and sending of mail only, or "Cancel" to abort the procedure.

The Update all accounts Toolbar Button

If there are marked items for a number of accounts click the "Update all accounts" toolbar button (Menu: CONNECT > UPDATE ALL ACCOUNTS. Keyboard: CTRL+G) instead.

If mail is marked for deletion on one or more accounts, then an "Update account" dialogue will appear.  However, the title bar is subject to change.  If the active Mailbox is an account with mail marked for deletion, then the title bar will show its name.  Otherwise it will show the name of the next following account that has mail marked for deletion.  If the active Mailbox follows those accounts that have mail marked for deletion, then it will be the first account in the drop-down with mail marked for deletion list that appears on the title bar.  The "Yes" and "No" buttons will work as before, but operating on all accounts.  However, if the "Cancel" button is clicked, as the dialogue disappears, the active account will change to the one seen on the dialogue's title bar.

TIP: An option to check for incoming mail when updating is available through the Global Options dialogue (Menu: FILE > OPTIONS > CHECK), effectively producing a "Send and Receive" function for nPOPuk.

Go to TopThe Outbox

The Outbox is used for both sent and unsent mail, which might include "draft" messages.  Sent mail is marked with an envelope icon.  This will be overlaid with a cross if it is unsent because of an error during update of the server. Unsent mail shows no icon.  Mail marked for sending shows a right-pointing blue arrow.  (See: Main Window)

Mail opened from the Outbox is displayed in a Mail Edit window.  For sent mail the title bar shows "Sent Mail - ", followed by the [Message Subject] in brackets.  For unsent mail, the title bar displays a "Mail Edit - " prefix and the message can be edited.

Go to Top